We're under way! Riding the 2013 Tour de Force

So finally, the last big pre-Tour de France test event has been ridden – the biggest cycle sportive in the world apparently, the Tour of Wessex.

3 days, each day well over 100 miles, over 1,800 metres of climbing on days 1 and 2, and about 3,000 metres on day 3.  I would guess over a thousand riders per day, some doing all three days others doing fewer days or shorter routes.  For me it had to be the full thing.  Obviously.  Each day starting and finishing at Somerton.  Three great routes, ironically many parts of which I have ridden before in training or other events, some of it as recently as only a week ago.

Scan 9

Highlights: day 1, Cheddar Gorge, beautiful weather, empty roads, someone claimed to see a lion in the undergrowth (near Longleat…); day 2, cycling past my mum’s front door (she didn’t see me though!), the ride up onto Lulworth ranges overlooking the sea, another glorious day, the run through Wareham and past Corfe Castle; day 3, the climb up Porlock toll road (sheltered from the wind and superb tarmac for the first 3.5 miles, then into the windswept monstrosity of Exmoor near the top); the banter and the food at the regular food stops en route; crossing the finishing line at the end of 335 miles; meeting many fellow Tour de Force riders, all keen to test their training; the evening meals courtesy of Claud the Butler; NO RAIN; and the camaraderie of the campsite (always easier when it’s not raining!).  The guy playing a bongo drum at or near the top of every one of the major climbs, creating a rhythm and an urgency to get those legs moving faster again – Sir, I don’t know who you are or how you did it, but it was just great – thank you!

The lowlights: one poor girl hit by a car while crossing the main road into Wells (I hope she is alright); being overtaken 60 miles into day 2 by two mega-fit YOUNG guys on full suspension mountain bikes, who I was unable to even keep up with.  They were still chatting as they dropped me.  Crawling up Alfred’s Tower climb near Stourhead on Day 1 – only just keeping the wheels turning.  Being snapped by the official photographer as I neared the top of the climb out of Cerne Abbas, just as a line of watery snot connected from my left nostril to my handlebars (I daren’t take a hand off the bars to wipe it away for fear of stalling…)  Riding most of day 3 solo, and most of that into the strong headwind blowing across the top of Exmoor.  Really very hard work.  Even swearing out loud didn’t seem to help (much).

Tour of Wessex 2013

Overall, then – a great event, a real confidence builder, even though (a) I was wrecked by the end and (b) the mountain days in France include 4,000-4,5000 metres of climbing, not 2,000-3,000.  Oh and the stages are mostly longer.  And about five of the stages are mountain top finishes.  Apart from which – all sorted!

And on return, into my mailbox popped final preparation instructions from Tracey at Tour de Force – so – it is real, it is close, it is time to sort my admin and get ready to go!

Leave a comment